Post by industrialchild on Feb 19, 2019 22:00:12 GMT -5
Hey guys, so I had no trouble playing the first two scenarios that just involve infantry. However, before I proceed with the other scenarios, I just wanted to make sure that I am treating certain units as intended.
Are these following units considered to be infantry, for the purposes of combining fire: Rifle Squads, .50 M2 MG, and Bazooka? I'm assuming that the PaK40 AT Gun and the 57mm AT Gun can not combine fire, is this correct?
Is the only "artillery" in this game the 81mm Mortar?
For the purposes of loading and unloading cargo, are the PaK40 AT Gun and the 57mm AT Gun considered to be "guns". Can I load one of these into a vehicle?
Can a gun that is loaded as cargo be fired from the vehicle outside of the turn it was loaded. For instance, as Defensive Fire?
Are infantry that ride tanks still considered to be cargo? I'm assuming when they jump off of the tank, they cannot move or fire that turn, is that correct?
I believe that's all the questions I have at the moment and I still think the rules for this game are excellent, but I'm a firm believer that the only stupid question is the one you don't ask! It would just be nice to have these clarified. Thank you for your time!
Post by industrialchild on Feb 23, 2019 17:53:23 GMT -5
So, on a closer reading of the rules, I was able to piece together some answers, but also ask better rules questions. Thank you to George Dew for taking the time to answer these questions for me via email. He was a joy to talk with and I hope we can continue conversing in the future. I didn't ask him my second question on here about artillery because I figured out that answer on my own. In fact, artillery is not present in this game unless you add those rules supplied in the book as optional rules. I will definitely do just that after my first complete playthrough of this fantastic game! Here are the questions and answers from these conversations, for anyone else that may be interested:
Q: Are these following units considered to be infantry, for the purposes of combining fire: Rifle Squads, .50 M2 MG, and Bazooka? I'm assuming that the PaK40 AT Gun, the 57mm AT Gun and the 81mm Mortar can not combine fire, is this correct?
A: Rifle Squads and .50 M2 MG can combine fire. The support guns (PaK40, 57mm), mortars, and bazookas cannot combine fire.
Q: For the purposes of loading and unloading cargo, are the PaK40 AT Gun, the 57mm AT Gun and the 81mm Mortar considered to be "guns". Can I load one of these into a vehicle?
A: As for the cargo, YES, the PaK40, 57mm, and the 81mm mortar CAN be loaded. (Towed behind a vehicle in some cases).
Q: Can a gun that is loaded as cargo be fired from the vehicle outside of the turn it was loaded. For instance, as Defensive Fire?
A: A loaded (as cargo) gun can NOT be used for defensive fire.
Q: Are infantry that ride tanks still considered to be cargo? I'm assuming when they jump off of the tank, they cannot move or fire that turn, is that correct?
A: Correct, they can jump off the tank, but cannot move or fire that turn.
Again, thank you George Dew for your time answering these questions and for designing this incredible war game! I'm looking forward to seeing this line expand in the future. Its first entry is short, sweet and tense with just the right amount of crunch!
Defensive Fire states once a unit has fired once, flip it over as an indication. Following Fire seems to state that a defense unit can continue using Defensive Fire as much as they want as long as an enemy unit continues moving in line of sight. Which is accurate? Does the unit get x1 shot, or as many shots as it can take? [Firing Conditions also state a unit can only fire once per round].
If a unit has used Following Fire during an enemy movement, can they also use Return Fire? Likewise, if a unit has used Return Fire, can it also use Following Fire?
A unit that has used Defensive Fire can only "unflip" on its next turn?
"Point Blank" is not defined. Is Point Blank one hex, same hex or both?
Movement states a moving unit must stop when entering the same hex as an enemy piece and are considered in Close Combat. Can units in a hex with the enemy exit the hex?
If a unit exits a hex containing an enemy, and that enemy elects to use defense fire, is the range conducted a Close Combat (range 0) or a range of 1?
Thanks in advance. Quite happy to see you making games like this.